Otome Visual Novel Releases of June 2016

MonthlyReleasesJune2016Banner.jpg

 

New Releases

Title Release Date Platform
Blackish House Side A→ 24-6-2016 → 26-8-2016 PC

 

Ports/Remakes/Re-releases

Title Release Date Platform
Taishou x Alice: all in one [Link] 02-6-2016 PC → PSV port [All 4 games in one]
Hakuouki Shinkai: Hana no Shou [Link]  16-6-2016 PS2 → PSP → NDS → PS3 → N3DS → PSV → iOS → PSV [Part 2 of Hakouki Remake]
Koezaru wa Akai Hana ~Koi wa Tsuki ni Michibikareru~ [Link] 23-6-2016 PC [R18+] → PSP → PSV port
Zettai Kaikyuu Gakuen ~Eden with roses and phantasm~ [Link]  30-6-2016 PC → PSV port

 

May~June 2016 Doujin/OELVN/Localisation Releases

*All titles are released on PC unless otherwise noted.

Title Release Date Notes
My Secret Pets! [Japanese name: Himitsu no Pet Hatsujou Chuu] 11-5-2016 Available in English, Japanese and Chinese.
Mystic Destinies: Serendipity of Aeons – Tatsuya Route [Link] 20-5-2016 → 23-5-2016 Tatsuya route DLC. English, also playable on Mac.
Seduce Me 2: The Demon War [Link] 20-5-2016 → 23-5-2016 Sequel of Seduce Me. English, voiced, also playable on Mac and Linux. Also on Steam.
Love in the Glen Feb 201601-6-2016 → 08-6-2016 English

 

 

Doujin/OELVN/Localisation Releases

 

 

My Secret Pets!

 

MySecretPetsHEADER

Release date: 11-5-2016
Platform: Apple/Android → PC port
Age rating: All-ages
Developer and publisher: Dogenzaka Lab
Official website and Steam: http://store.steampowered.com/app/447180/
VNDb link: https://vndb.org/v19071

 

* Plot Summary *

When you return home rejected the evening after being broken up with by your boyfriend, waiting for you are four handsome men…who are actually your pets! Cue a fierce battle for the love of their beloved (former) owner — you! But watch out for the reappearance of your ex…

 

~ The plot summary has been taken directly from the official website.

 

* My Thoughts *

Now this is something different. Pets becoming human-like but retaining some of their animalistic traits is so cute! It’s such a lucky coincidence that they get to keep their cute animal traits but still be hawt guys! Also, I love how sudden and totally unexplained the pet-to-human transition is. I don’t like it when too many complex details are thrown in, because I’m too busy fangirling to think straight, LOL! It’s so cool how all the pets love the protag-chan so much- she must be a really cool and unique girl. Plus I hope the ex character is hawt… I have no idea why he’s back and what he’d want from the protag-chan, but I really, really hope he’s not back to cause trouble! But then again, shoehorned in conflict is the best!

 

 

Hahahaha, God no. I’m only messin’ with you guys. This game is derivative rubbish at best.

These kinds of games is the reason why the otome fandom get mocked as brainless moetards. I don’t need My Secret Pets to help cultivate this image; Diabolik Lovers fulfils this role pretty nicely, thanks.

Talk about completely uninteresting and clichéd.

Talk about the price reflecting the value of the game.

This game took as much “work” to develop as it took me to create a post about it.

Oh, and before the ironic hipsters come here and start prattling nonsense about this “clearly being a parody”… It’s not. Japanese otome devs seriously chew through cliché after cliché with a straight face. They can toss their creative dignity into the fire for the sake of making a quick buck.

“Integrity?” Who is that? Do otome customers like that guy? Is he moe enough for our next project?

 

 

Love in the Glen

 

Release date: Feb-2016 → 01-6-2016
Platform: PC (Windows, Mac and Linux)
Age rating: All-ages
Developer and publisher: Sapphire Dragon Productions
Steam: http://store.steampowered.com/app/459130
Official website: http://sapphiredragonproductions.com/love-in-the-glen/
VNDb link: https://vndb.org/v18877

 

* Plot Summary *

“Love in the Glen” is a romantic otome visual novel/dating sim with a fun interior design minigame. Follow in the steps of Zoe Richardson, an interior designer living and working in Los Angeles’ exclusive and stylish Westside, as she explores the true meaning of love, commitment and passion and how it exists on so many different levels and planes.

~ The plot summary has been taken directly from the official website.

 

* My Thoughts *

Interesting! I don’t think there has ever been an otome game about interior design before. It’s good to see a game in a real world setting without any of the Japanese companies’ compulsions to add pointless fantastical elements to it. Another huge bonus is how the company states that the narrative is like films by Nancy Meyers– I enjoyed Something’s Gotta Give and to a lesser extent, The Holiday.

As I’ve mentioned a few times, I’m not a huge fan of VNs with mini-games as I choose the VN medium when I just want to listen and read. However, I do think the idea of an interior design game is cute, and it’d be interesting to see if your skills impact the story at all.

It’s too bad that not a lot of information about the characters themselves are available. I hope it’s not just about the trendy upper-class in trendy houses and trendy locales, even if interior design is a pastime and industry often associated with the wealthy. The protagonist looks like an elegant, professional, mature and confident lady- I think she’s quite pretty! Hope she’s as cool on the inside as she is on the outside. – Actually, I’m not sure who the protagonist is. I presumed it was the lady in the grey dress with the clutch for some reason…

The only thing that tugs at me is the reception of Sapphire Dragon’s other games, particularly how they fared with their romance titles. Save for Silver Creek Falls, the games are mixed-to-averagely received. I don’t know if it means it really chooses its players or if it’s simply an average product, but…

I think this Love in the Glen has a pretty good concept, but perhaps I’ll wait for reviews or for at least, more information before buying it.

Categories: Monthly Otome Release Lists, Otome News | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Otome Visual Novel Releases of June 2016

  1. I can’t help but laugh at the platform trail Hakuouki has. And here I thought Daisy2 was bad for porting their games over and over again, but they’ve got nothing on Otomate hahaha

    • Hello, Usagi!

      Yeah, that trail of Hakuouki’s is pretty darn impressive.

      And as much as I love ZKG, I can’t really defend Daisy2’s porting. Also, their next “new” project is going to be another Sangoku Rensenki game. It’s not a bad game at all, but I want them to try and make a completely new game! They haven’t reached Otomate levels… yet? 😉

  2. Oh god, I actually bought 2 routes from My Secret Pets! and it’s SO. FREAKING. BAD!!! I don’t really mind the “animals turn into men” but when the writing is THIS bad…yeah, no thanks!!

    Wow, Taisho Alice is coming to the PS Vita? Gosh, why did the company that’s going to localize it have to be E2 Gaming? :c The game looks so gorgeous too…I’d better improve my japanese (thank you very much for the tips, btw! I already bought some flash cards to write kanji on).

    Wow, Hakuouki keeps releasing more and more games…I already have the PS3 version but I’m kinda curious about the new characters, nooooo! And I really doubt they’ll localize the new game…

    The other games look cute but they don’t really catch my attention right now. Actually, I’m getting more and more interested in Kyoukai no Shirayuki (the art looks gorgeous!) but the game’s CERO C so I’m not sure how much of an easy read that would be…

    Thanks for the awesome post! 🙂

    • Great to hear from you again, otometantei!

      Whoa, I heard My Secret Pets! was bad (even before it got more known thanks to Steam) even before the localisation. It’s very sad how the mobile otome market can get away with even crappier and “samey-ier” writing than console otome games. It’s like nobody has any hope in them anyway, so they’re free to suck. Very sad.

      Yup, the Vita game is a port containing all four episodes. I think it’s a pretty neat deal, especially for people who dislike the partition release practice and/or PC otome gaming. I don’t recall Taishou x Alice being especially difficult, but it’s not especially easy, either.

      You’re welcome! Also, another tip- if you find that you can’t find physical flash cards you like, you can make virtual flash cards online. Some people have already created kanji flash cards, so you might be able to use them.

      If I hadn’t already played Hakuouki, I’d have bought Shinkai. It’s the only Hakuouki port that hasn’t made me roll my eyes at the greed!

      Yeah, Kyoukai no Shirayuki does look interesting. From some of the reviews I read, it did sound like it had the same problems as many humongo-cast games do (individual routes are overly condensed, short, etc.), so it’s very low on my priority list. I haven’t read any comments about it being difficult to understand, so it’s unlikely to be complicated.

      No worries! Thanks for your support. 🙂

      • Thanks for the reply!! 🙂

        My Secret Pets! is painfully bad. I know many mobile otome games aren’t very good but this one is downright TERRIBLE. The heroine literally falls in love in like 2 days and for no freaking reason at all. There is no development, no nothing ‎(ノಥ益ಥ)ノ ┻━┻
        Anyway, rant aside, although many mobile otome games have the recurrent “power of love” shit, there are some which are quite good considering the price, art and story as a whole. I mean, of course mobages don’t have the story quality of console games but I find that some are quite enjoyable despite not being too deep.

        Wow, all four episodes? That’s neat!! I’m a big fan of handheld consoles too so maybe when my japanese is a little better I might consider getting it.

        Oh, that’s nice! I’ll look up kanji flash cards to see what I can find.

        Haha, Shinkai seems quite interesting! I hope there was a way where they could take out the already existing routes and just leave the new ones, but I guess that’s not possible.

        I see. Yeah, I wonder why some otome games have so many routes! The art looks gorgeous. If it’s not that difficult I might consider it after looking up some reviews. I hope it’s a good game. I’m enjoying KBO so far!!

Don't be shy, leave a reply!

Powered by WordPress.com.

