Otome Visual Novel Releases of April 2015

It’s been a year since I first started the Monthly Releases series of posts… Can’t believe how quickly time has passed! Sadly, outside of this, there’s nothing truly notable about April 2015. It’s such an obvious dump month that I feel sorry for it! Fandiscs, sequels, ports, remakes… the only game that is a truly new release is Photograph Journey ~Koi Suru Ryokou Shizuoka-hen & Nagasaki-hen~. Good timing, in a way, since I’m very busy with my studies this month and could use the mid-April holidays to catch up on the otome games that have been stuck in my backlog for ages!

 

New releases

Title Release Date Platform
Norn9 ~Norn + Nonette~ Last Era 19-3-2015 → 2-4-2015 PSV
Meiji Tokyo Renka Twilight Kiss 29-1-2015 → 23-4-2015 PSP
Clover Toshokan no Juunin-tachi II 24-4-2015 PC
Photograph Journey ~Koi Suru Ryokou Shizuoka-hen & Nagasaki-hen~ 24-4-2015 PC

 

Ports/Remakes/Re-releases

Title Release Date Platform
Clock Zero ~Shuuen no Ichibyou~ ExTime [Link] 23-4-2015 PS2 → PSP → PSV [Port]
Shinsouban Crimson Empire ~Circumstances to Serve a Noble~ [Link] 23-4-2015 PSV [Remake]
Hanayaka Nari, Waga Ichizoku Modern Nostalgie [Link] 30-4-2015 PSP → PSV [Port]

 

Norn9 ~Norn + Nonette~ Last Era

 

Release date: 19-3-2015 → 2-4-2015
Developer: Otomate
Publisher: IDEA FACTORY
Artist: Teita (悌太)
Platform: PlayStation Vita
Age rating: CERO C [15+]
Official website: http://www.otomate.jp/norn9/last-era/
VNDb link: https://vndb.org/v14415

* Cast *

+ Group 1 +
~ Koharu – Fujimura Ayumi
~ Yuiga Kakeru – Kaji Yuuki
~ Ichinose Senri – Shimono Hiro
~ Tooya Masamune – Satou Takuya

+ Group 2 +
~ Kuga Mikoto – Takagaki Ayahi
~ Azuma Natsuhiko – Ono Daisuke
~ Nijou Sakuya – Saiga Mitsuki
~ Kagami Itsuki – Yusa Kouji

+ Group 3 +
~ Shiranui Nanami – Seto Asami
~ Shukuri Akito – Sugiyama Noriaki
~ Muroboshi Ron – Sugita Tomokazu
~ Otomaru Heishi – Yoshino Hiroyuki

+ Supporting Characters +
~ Suzuhara Sorata – Abe Atsushi
~ Takishima Setsu – Ichiki Mitsuhiro
~ Yuiga Shirou – Hamada Kenji
~ Aion – Yanagi Nagi
~ Tooya Motohisa – Ueda Youji
~ Totonoe Nagisa – Yuzuki Ryouka
~ Kagami Kazuha – Arakawa Miho
~ Saisho Yahiro – Nakamura Yuuichi

 

* Plot Summary *

Last Era is the fandisc of Norn9 ~Norn + Nonette~. The fandisc’s plot will be split into three different scenarios:

1) Concerto –Kyousoukyoku–

Sun Concerto
Even though it’s not a special day, the morning that welcomes you and your boyfriend is filled with the greatest happiness. Nothing could possibly change this specialness. This is a story written about you and your beloved boyfriend’s day-to-day life.

Moonlight Concerto
A problem that arises between you and your sweetheart after becoming a couple… This has something to do with his past. This is a story about fastening the traces of the past, present and future together.

 

2) Fuga –Tonsoukyoku–

The meaning of that kiss and embrace on that day… The feelings he had hidden in the innermost depths of his heart had unveiled. This is the original story told from his perspective.

 

3) Fantasia –Gensoukyoku–

What if the girls’ love had never blossomed?
This is a “what if?” story written about a single scene from a certain trip…

A certain incident that had occurred in the real world and the dream world causes chaos aboard Norn.
The Norn members had all become small in the dream world.
They thought Itsuki was behind this, but apparently, this wasn’t the case.

“Even though we’ve become small… If it’s only in the dream world, it shouldn’t be an issue.”

That’s what everybody thought… However, problems also gradually arose in the real world.

Finally not being able to endure this situation, they all use Heishi and Itsuki’s abilities to gather together.

 

* My Thoughts *

I actually bought the original Norn9 aaages ago. I haven’t touched it yet! I don’t hear too many good things about the original game so perhaps I’ve wasted my money. I like the idea of three different protagonists, though it makes me wonder how well coordinated the stories of all routes are with one another. From what I’ve heard, Norn9 is pretty much a charage. Sorry guys, I don’t have a lot to say since I haven’t played the first game. If I had and liked it, I’d definitely be the most interested in the Fuga segement of the fandisc.

 

 

Meiji Tokyo Renka Twilight Kiss

 

Release date: 29-1-2015 → 23-4-2015
Developer: HuneX
Publisher: Broccoli
Artist: Karu (かる)
Platform: PSP
Age rating: CERO C [15+]
Official website: http://www.meikoi-psp.com/
VNDb link: https://vndb.org/v15910

* Cast *

~ Mori Ougai – Namikawa Daisuke
~ Hishida Shunsou – KENN
~ Kawakami Otojirou – Toriumi Kousuke
~ Izumi Kyouka – Okamoto Nobuhiko
~ Fujita Gorou – Fukuyama Jun
~ Koizumi Yakumo – Tachibana Shinnosuke
~ Charlie – Morikawa Toshiyuki

 

* Plot Summary *

When the protagonist- Ayazuki Mei from present-day Japan- warped through time, she had arrived in a strange Meiji Era “Tokyo” in which mononoke exist.

There, she met Mori Ougai, Hishida Shunsou, Kawakami Otojirou, Izumi Kyouka, Fujita Gorou and Koizumi Yakumo, who are famous historical figures.

As she spent time with them, Mei realised that she possessed the ability known as “Tamayori”, which enables her to see mononoke.

The days passed on by, and Mei became attracted to one of the men. She then fell in love…
She was then faced with a conundrum: to stay in the Meiji Era or return to the modern era she had come from. Mei decided to stay in the “Meiji World” to be with her beloved.

And today, again, slightly strange events occur around the “Tamayori”-endowed Mei.

 

* My Thoughts *

I haven’t played the first game, and I’m still not interested in it, in spite of the praise I see. The real people the heroes are based on are interesting picks, instead of the usual process of recycling the Sengoku or Shinsengumi figures over and over and over. That alone would have been interesting enough, but no, they just had to throw in mononoke. Otome games love mixing settings waaay too much, and worse, they often can’t even get one of the two or three settings they throw into the blender right. I have no idea how the story concludes in the first game so this may be explained, but how the hell did Mei not affect the course of history a single bit? That’s beyond illogical. Perhaps this is another charage? Again, similar to Last Era, I really have nothing to add, so let’s move on.

 

 

Clover Toshokan no Juunin-tachi II

 

Release date: 24-4-2015
Developer: Mio
Publisher: Mio
Artist: Asahikawa Hiyori (朝日川 日和)
Platform: PC
Age rating: CERO B [12+]
Official website: http://www.mi-o.jp/product/clover_library/index.html
VNDb link: https://vndb.org/v16464

* Cast *

+ Main Characters +
~ Natsume – Konishi Katsuyuki
~ Riku – Hanae Natsuki
~ Shikimi – Hamada Kenji
~ Itsuki – Namikawa Daisuke
~ Shuu – Abe Atsushi
~ Aoi – Satou Takuya

+ Supporting Characters +
~ Kuu – Kobori Miyuki
~ Yukiha – Suegara Rie

 

* Plot Summary *

On the corner of a modern town, there is a private library called the “Clover Library”.
During the day, it seems like an ordinary library.
However, when night comes, it becomes a strange library where the books take on human forms.

The cookbook, Natsume. The picture book, Riku. The book of paintings, Shikimi. The technical book, Itsuki. The book that’s the latest craze, Aoi. Aikawa Chihiro, the protagonist, became the library’s live-in caretaker. While somewhat inept, she continued to manage the library.

One day…
The library’s pet cat, Kuu, brought a single key to Chihiro.

“I wonder where this key is for? When it’s night, I’ll try asking everyone.”

Now, on the very top floor of Clover Library, the so-called “forbidden door” will be opened.

 

* My Thoughts *

I wondered why Mio bothered, considered the lukewarm reception the first Clover Toshokan got? Maybe the sales were good… Which would be believable since I remember many people loving the “books that turn into people” schtick. The main complaints I usually read was how short and unfulfilling the story was. Perhaps we have an explanation- because Mio was planning this sequel all along! Nothing about Clover Toshokan interests me whatsoever. Don’t care about the art, the gimmick, the system, the story, the characters… So much so, it’s actually remarkable since I’m the type to find at least one thing to like about even in the dumbest otome titles. The sequel sounds just as uninteresting as its prequel. I mean, a mysterious key? Forbidden door? *Yawns* Yes, it’s all in the execution, but I wouldn’t put my faith in it due to the complaints of the previous game.

 

 

Photograph Journey ~Koi Suru Ryokou Shizuoka-hen & Nagasaki-hen~

 

Release date: 24-4-2015
Developer: honeybee, Dengeki Girl’s Style
Publisher: honeybee, Dengeki Girl’s Style
Artist: Mizuguchi Too (水口 十)
Platform: PC
Age rating: CERO A [All-ages]
Official website: http://www.honeybee-cd.com/p_j/shizuoka-nagasaki/index.html
VNDb link: https://vndb.org/v14700

* Cast *

~ Tatara Ryouhei – Kakihara Tetsuya
~ Saikusa Mizuki – KENN
~ Richard – Mizushima Takahiro

 

* Plot Summary *

Until she became a high school student, due to the the protagonist’s (Hayama Haruho) father’s job, she had to repeatedly transfer schools. One day, she receives a single letter from a boy she met at one of the many places she had moved to.

Enclosed is a letter and a photograph of him.

Form then onwards, the nostalgic relationship between him and Haruho begins.

Accompanied by Richard, an English boy who loves Japan and is currently home-staying at Haruho’s, she journeys to the place where that boy now lives…

This is a travel romance story that began from a single letter…

Who will you choose to visit?

 

* My Thoughts *

As the only entry this month that isn’t a pointless cash-grab fandisc or sequel, good on you, honeybee. Wow, I never thought I’d ever praise honeybee in this manner! Anyway, my opinion about the general setting of Photograph Journey hasn’t changed- I still think the idea- while not very original- is a cute one suited to its short format. I still think Richard is the bomb, and really, really hope he gets a route one day! I’m currently in the process of playing Niigata-hen and Hokkaido-hen. It’s nothing out of the world so far, but it’s still an enjoyable couple of hours. More than I can say for a few of the visual novels I’ve played lately, so I’ll take it! I guess since there is basically no common route, honeybee’s semi-frequent “the common route is way too long” complaint can be averted with Photograph Journey.

As for this particular one, I’m not really interested in Mizuki or Ryouhei, so there’s a moderate chance I’ll skip this one if I decide on not playing all of the Photograph Journey games. We’ll have to see. In spite of this, it’s still my April pick… What a surprise! xP

Categories: Monthly Otome Release Lists | Tags: , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Otome Visual Novel Releases of April 2015

  1. Hey under Clover Toshokan in your table you put it under PSV instead of PC www

    Regardless, April is kind of a dead month for me. Clock Zero is the only thing I preordered, because I remember loving the game the first time I played it although I don’t remember much else LOL -v-;;; I’m surprised Clover Toshokan got another game though. I guess anything is possible, though…. lol

    Ahhh as usual though I love your editorials, they’re so useful and informing ;v; For some reason even though I read the mags and stuff I always get mixed up when it comes to releases…. >_> LOL sobs it’s probably because I don’t pay enough attention to other games I’m not interested in buying so when their releases dates come up it always catches me by surprise www

    • Hello Usagii! 🙂

      Thanks for letting me know; I’ve now corrected the mistake.

      Yeah, April is remarkably bland. I haven’t felt this bored with a month since last June, where the only new release was QuinRose’s Black Code. It’s a rare case of the ports being more interesting or valuable than the new releases.

      Thank you for the kind words! My monthly posts help me stay on top of things, too. It’s harder to keep up with port and re-release news since most people don’t have an interest in it, plus companies tend to not bother publicising them as much.

      I just wanna know when Reine des Fleurs is coming out… xS

      • Yeah seriously, how odd is it when ports are more exciting than new releases? It’s kind of a let down really!
        Yeah seriously, there are so many games that I just had no idea were on their way this year that sometimes I’m caught off guard when I read your monthly posts www UGH I want Reines so badly sobs it’s one of the games I’ve been most looking forward to… sigh :\ maybe someday we’ll get a release date.

  2. Daeyamati

    Although I haven’t played the original Norn9 yet, I was glad to see it getting a fan disc until it got delayed in typical Otomate fashion. I’ll be waiting to read reviews on it but I won’t be expecting much.

    Overall, it seems like this month is rather “quiet” in terms of releases. I really just wanna know when Reines des Fleurs is gonna get released already (if it even gets a date this year) *sigh*.

Don't be shy, leave a reply!

Powered by WordPress.com.

