Otome Visual Novel Releases of December 2014

Enjoy the filler month, folks! My guess is that most companies will release their lower-priced products and/or ports to tie themselves over for maximum profits for January, where many Japanese fans will have received money from family thanks to otoshidama on New Year’s!

To be honest, I’m not really interested in any of the new releases this month other than Price Pia Carrot and Photograph Journey. I do find it amusing that Diabolik Lovers made a fandisc of a fandisc, though. There’s Kuroyuki Hime ~Snow Magic~ for those who enjoyed its predecessor, ~Snow Black~. honeybee will be launching the first of their three Dynamic Chord games, which will focus on the up-and-coming high school band, “rēve parfait (it means “perfect dream” in French)”. Let me be the first to tell honeybee that no teenage group of boys would name their band that!

New Releases:
~ Diabolik Lovers Vandead Carnival [4-12-2014]
~ Kuroyuki Hime ~Snow Magic~ [4-12-2014]
~ Prince Pia♥Carrot [PC version] [18-12-2014]
~ Dynamic Chord feat. rēve parfait [26-12-2014]
~ Photograph Journey ~Koi Suru Ryokou Hiroshima-hen & Kanagawa-hen~ [26-12-2014]

Ports, remakes and re-releases:
~ Norn9 ~Norn + Nonette~ VAR COMMONS [PSP → PSV port] [Link] [11-12-2014]
~ Heart no Kuni no Alice ~Wonderful Wonder & Twin World~ Twin Pack [PSP, re-release] [Link] [18-12-2014]
~ Kaeru Batake DE Tsukamaete☆彡 [PSP → PSV port] [Link] [18-12-2014]
~ Shinsouban Clover no Kuni no Alice ~Wonderful Wonder World~ [PSP, remake] [Link] [18-12-2014]

Delays:
~ ROOT∞REXX [18-12-2014 → 22-1-2014]

In other, unrelated news, I’ve decided to change my scoring system before publishing my next review(s), so head to the FAQ section if you’re interested in checking it out.

 

Diabolik Lovers Vandead Carnival

Release date: 4-12-2014
Developer: Otomate, Rejet
Publisher: Idea Factory
Artist: Satoi (さとい)
Platform: PlayStation Vita
Age rating: CERO D (17+)
Official website: http://www.otomate.jp/dialover/vc/
VNDb link: https://vndb.org/v15448

* Cast *
~ Sakamaki Shuu – Toriumi Kousuke
~ Sakamaki Reiji – Konishi Katsuyuki
~ Sakamaki Laito – Hirakawa Daisuke
~ Sakamaki Ayato – Midorikawa Hikaru
~ Sakamaki Kanato – Kaji Yuuki
~ Sakamaki Subaru – Kondou Takashi
~ Mukami Ruki – Sakurai Takahiro
~ Mukami Kou – Kimura Ryouhei
~ Mukami Yuuma – Suzuki Tatsuhisa
~ Mukami Azusa – Kishio Daisuke

 

* Plot Summary *
The setting is “Vandead Carnival”, a massive festival held by vampires in the world of spirits.

One day, a letter of invitation to the Vandead Carnival arrives at the Sakamaki household.

Ordered by their father, the Sakamaki brothers and Komori Yui reluctantly attend.

Upon arrival at the meeting place, they see that the Mukami brothers are also there…

The Sakamaki and Mukami brothers glare at each other.

Caught up in this, what will Yui’s fate be?

Held only for a single night, the curtains of the boisterous and fun Vandead Carnival are raised.

 

* My Thoughts *
ZOMG, so cant wait 4 da next DiaLovers!~<3 Its like, totally not a pointless, blatant ca$h-grab fandisc of a fandisk (lolwut), u guys~<3 Be sure to buy 10 (or moar!) copies & support da stale vampire do-s recycling lazy creators that support u, k?!!?! or i wil sik chibi reiji on u, lolz…just lyk teh amount of effort put into this game, u can expect the same level of effort to read it in all of its poorly-written glory. howeva, the seiyuu cast is lyk SOLID GOLD and satoi’s art is lyk so pretty, so dont think 2 hard, desu neeee~? cos in a visual novel, the quality of story and characters is lyk, totaly less important than da seiyuu cast and art, afta al! ~(=^‥^)_旦~ <- lol, dats da creator stealin da sucka fangalz money since dey cant pirate Vita, lololol

NOTE (6/12/2014): Thanks to a comment left by one of the readers, I wanted to add that this “My Thoughts” was intended to satirise a handful of Diabolik Lovers fans who are rabid, idiotic and/or slavishly devoted. Thanks to them, an already boring idea has been recycled more times than the high school premise in fan-fanfiction and has turned into a series which never needed zillions of fandiscs in the first place. I thought that the departure from my usual writing style would convey this enough, but unfortunately it didn’t. It was meant to be for a giggle, and if anybody got offended, I’m genuinely sorry.

 

 

Kuroyuki Hime ~Snow Magic~

Release date: 4-12-2014
Developer: QuinRose
Publisher: QuinRose
Artist: Yukino Tsunako (雪野 ツナコ)
Platform: PlayStation Portable
Age rating: CERO D (17+)
Official website: http://quinrose.com/game/kuroyuki_2/top.html
VNDb link: https://vndb.org/v15816

* Cast *
~ Reviens Tendre – Tsuda Kenjirou
~ Falco Lauder – Okiayu Ryoutarou
~ Fahren Heit – Sakurai Takahiro
~ Dune Baxter – Sugiyama Noriaki
~ Omnia Campbell – Itou Kentarou
~ Chamade Ricci – Hiyama Nobuyuki
~ Lupino Rochas – Toriumi Kousuke
~ Loreille Adelaide – Ookawa Tooru
~ Jeanne Bush – Ishida Kayo
~ Mirror – Yonaga Tsubasa

 

* Plot Summary *

As the last member of the royal Tresor family, Liv Tresor works hard on her official duties everyday.
Reviens Tendre, the queen who had once dominated the country, is no longer there.
After saving Tresor from the fires of war, he had suddenly disappeared.

One day during Liv’s peaceful days, an unexpected notification flew her way.
It was a rumour of the southern country Talenshika’s declaration of war against the three countries, Tresor, Apalashion and Platinum.

In order to protect her beloved country, Liv heads towards Talenshika with her former comrades to meet with “The White Magician”, whom possesses enormous power.

The curtains are now once again raised for the story which is as sinister and alluring as a poisonous apple.

 

* My Thoughts *

This is the fandisc of Kuroyuki Hime ~Snow Black~, which I haven’t even started yet. I do plan on playing it despite the (worrying) mixed reception. It’s not very high on my priority list, so God knows when I’ll get to it. Therefore, I don’t really have anything meaningful to add. It’s nice to see a protagonist that has an IQ beyond single digits and the sudden decleration of war does intrigue me. For now, I’ll pass. Also, Falco is still the hottest guy, but Jeanne might be the hottest of them all. I wonder if she will have a route?!

 

 

Prince Pia♥Carrot [PC version]

Release date: 18-12-2014
Developer: Cocoever, HuneX
Publisher: Cocktail Soft, HuneX
Artist: Shiramatsu (白松)
Platform: PC
Age rating: Unlisted (Though not R18+)
Official website: http://www.cocoever.com/pripia/
VNDb link: https://vndb.org/v12570

* Cast *

+ Main Characters +
~ Todoroki Arashi – Shimono Hiro
~ Yamauchi Maito – Inoue Gou
~ Suzushiro Shun – Shimazaki Nobunaga
~ Tachibana Kokoro – Irie Reona
~ Matoba Daichi – Yasumoto Hiroki
~ Kinoshita Kuon – Toriumi Kousuke

+ Supporting Characters +
~ Nishida Riku – Hirata Mana
~ Yuzuki Nao – Fukamori Raeru
~ Kinoshita Yasuo – Tachibana Juushirou
~ Hayashi Masamichi – Hayashi Kazuyoshi

 

* Plot Summary *

A 9-minute walk from Tsuka Fukuro Station.
Near the aquarium and the viewing platform buildings, a somewhat unsual family restaurant opened up. Its name is “Prince Pia Carrot”, which is the “Pia Carrot” family restaurant chain’s ninth store. It’s distinctive among the other Pia Carrot restaurants because all of its employees are male waiters. All of the waiters are handsome, and there are countless female customers that visit just for them

Prince Pia Carrot’s sole female comes along, employed as a waitress. Her name is Yoshioka Misaki. She came to work for the restaurant in order to compensate for the breakage of the expensive crockery which was planned for store use.

After ending up working for the restaurant part-time due to a series of events, Misaki discovers that her coworkers are all individualistic and strange.

The store manager, Kinoshita Kuon… Though soft in demeanour, he’s irresponsible and lazy.
The student council president, Todoroki Arashi. Not only is he eccentric, but he’s constantly causing trouble.
Though intelligent, Suzushiro Shun is apathetic and doesn’t really interact with others.
Matoba Daichi is a capable worker, but he’s taciturn and it’s hard to tell what’s on his mind.
On top of that, some of them don’t like the idea of a waitress joining Prince Pia Carrot…

Afterwards, Misaki’s innocent, boyish classmate, Tachibana Kokoro, and the somewhat very sadistic deputy president of her school’s student council, Yamauchi Maito, also become waiters; livening up the place further.

However, Prince Pia Carrot has a grave secret.
That secret is if the store isn’t able to meet its targets, its concept will be abolished, and changed to a standard “Pia Carrot” restaurant. “The only way to save this store is to raise sales!” When the employees learned of this, they all brainstormed some ideas, and face the store’s crisis.

A welcome party, the manager’s birthday, Arashi’s in-store events, the summer holidays, and finally, a study tour. Going through event after event, gradually, friendship is born… or will it be love? Deepening bonds, obtaining a wonderful lover during the summer… That all depends on your choices.

 

* My Thoughts *

This is exactly the same as the October PSP release, except for the fact that this [PC] version will have a simulation aspect as well as the story. At the extreme risk of sounding lazy, my opinions haven’t changed from October. You can read them here under Prince Pia PSP version’s “My Thoughts”. Since this has been developed by the same people who brought us the super-fun Otometeki Koi Kakumei LoveRevo, I’m expecting an enjoyable, yet surprisingly challenging simulation aspect (and game as a whole). I definitely will be trying out Prince Pia!

 

 

Dynamic Chord feat. rēve parfait

Release date: 26-12-2014
Developer: honeybee black
Publisher: honeybee black
Artist: Fujiwara Ryou (冨士原 良)
Platform: PC
Age rating: CERO A (All ages)
Official website: http://www.honeybee-cd.com/dynamic/reve/
VNDb link: https://vndb.org/v15495

* Cast *
~ Kashi’i “King” Reon – Eguchi Takuya
~ Momose “Bishop” Tsumugi – Kimura Ryouhei
~ Tsukinohara “Rook” Kuon – Toriumi Kousuke
~ Kashi’i “Knight” Aki – Hirose Yuuya

 

* Plot Summary *

2nd-year high school student Atano Rio has childhood friends.

They are Kashi’i Reon, who is the same age as her, and his older brother Kashi’i Aki.

However, due to a certain incident, she has become estranged from Reon.

One day, Rio is lead to a certain studio by Kuon, whom is an upperclassman she’s close to and also Aki’s friend.

It is there that she learns that the three- Reon, Aki and Kuon- had formed a band together.

However, their band’s bassist had dropped out…

The love between you and the high school band-men aiming for a major debut… Where will it lead?

 

* My Thoughts *

I’m no honeybee fangirl, and none of the Dynamic Chords looks like it’d change that. This kind of VN is the hardest to meaningfully comment on because it’s so ordinary. Childhood friends, looking for a bandmate at the last minute, being estranged from a childhood friend due to something that sounds major but will turn out not to be (who wants to be it on some kind of stupid misunderstanding?), a story about a band wanting to make it big… What part of this story is actually unique? Can I trust honeybee to write about a very boring premise and make it interesting? Not at all. On top of that, I have no interest in the “musician/idol” love interest archetype. It’s the kind of story where you can see exactly how things are going to turn out from the get-go, and I generally loathe that. Fujiwara Ryou’s art is nice, though, and it’s nice to see a seiyuu name I’m unfamiliar with! I couldn’t find much info on Hirose Yuuya. Maybe he’ll turn out to be the next Ishikawa Kaito (in terms of popping up in a handful of otome media suddenly), so keep an eye on him.

Anyway, trust me, I can guarantee there are a ton of older games worth much, much more of your time.

 

 

Photograph Journey ~Koi Suru Ryokou Hiroshima-hen & Kanagawa-hen~

Release date: 26-12-2014
Developer: Dengeki Girl’s Style, honeybee
Publisher: Dengeki Girl’s Style, honeybee
Artist: Mizuguchi Too (水口 十)
Platform: PC
Age rating: CERO A (All ages)
Official website: http://www.honeybee-cd.com/p_j/hiroshima-kanagawa/index.html
VNDb link: http://vndb.org/v14700

* Cast *
~ Sera Karen – Miyata Kouki
~ Yuzurihara Takara – Okamoto Nobuhiko
~ Richard Albarn – Mizushima Takahiro

 

* Plot Summary *
Until she became a high school student, due to Hayama Haruho’s father’s job, she had to repeatedly transfer schools. One day, she receives a single letter from a boy she met at one of the many places she had moved to.

Enclosed is a letter and a photograph of him.

Form then onwards, the nostalgic relationship between him and Haruho begins.

Accompanied by Richard, an English boy who loves Japan and is currently home-staying at Haruho’s, she journeys to the place where that boy now lives…

This is a travel romance story that began from a single letter…

Who will you choose to visit?

 

* My Thoughts *

Yes… I still haven’t played even the first Photograph Journey. Again, at the risk of laziness, you’re welcome to read my more extensive thoughts on Photograph Journey as a whole through my previous monthly entries here and here. This will save me from having to repeat myself and not make this already very long post even longer for no good reason. Anyway, out of the three that have come out so far, I’m the least interested in this one. It’s not to say that I think it’d be bad… Takara doesn’t seem very interesting to me, but Karen’s route has some potential to be a good, short, dramatic read. Karen is ill and appears to spend a lot of time in and out of hospital. I don’t know how sick he is (I haven’t got to his drama CD yet), but I wonder how honeybee will go about this? Will they stick to their sugary happy ends or take on a sad, yet more realistic approach and have poor Karen succumb?

Depending on how much I enjoy the previous two Photograph Journey games, I may give this one a try.

Categories: Monthly Otome Release Lists | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Otome Visual Novel Releases of December 2014

  1. Pingback: [NEWS] Otome Game Releases - Tháng 12/2014

  2. No Otoshidama for me ): Waaay too old for that, haha. Nice job as always! Root Rexx’s delay was disappointing since December is going to be cold and I wanna snuggle up playing games…

    How’s Mermaid?

    • Thanks for the kind words, I try my best! I’m not really interested in Root Rexx (the music scene doesn’t interest me at all), but the Kazune is an interesting protagonist.

      I haven’t even started Mermaid Gothic since I’ve been too busy playing Pokemon! x)

      • I love rhythm games so I’m alright with the system, but too many games and CDs coming out at the end of January… Like Rebirthday and Psychedelica so I’m gonna put Rexx aside ( ̄^ ̄)ゞ

  3. Lena

    I’m sorry if my comment annoy you in any possible way.

    I’m sorry but l…I dont like the dialovers serie and I don’t plan to play Vandread Carnival but don’t you think you’re a bit rude toward the diabolik lovers fans? (I talk about your thought on Vandread Carnival)

    I’m sorry again but I had to say this s. It’s okay to wrote what you want it’s your blog but remember to stay polite toward the fans. It’s okay to wrote what you wrote about Marginal#4 it’s was your opinion but what you wrote about vandreae Carnival was mean to the diabolik lovers fans. (I’m sorry for my bad english)

    Lastly, I am sorry if I bothering or making you offended with this and my poor choice of wording, I really don’t mean to make you angry. And also, sorry for my bad English.

    • First of all, nobody should be sorry for sharing their opinion about any of my posts, be it positive of negative. I’m certain quite a few Diabolik Lovers fans (or even non-fans) would be on the same boat as you, but chose to not comment on this for their own reasons. However, thanks to you doing so, I’ve learned that adding a note after a joke that is likely to come across as truly mean-spirited could prevent genuinely hurting people’s feelings. So thanks for bringing this to my attention. I’m far from annoyed! Also, I completely understood what you’re getting across, so there’s no need to worry if your English isn’t conveying this.

      This was intended to poke fun at a handful (I want to stress, NOT ALL) of Diabolik Lovers’ excessively devote, stupid, ignorant and/or rabid fanbase. Thanks mostly to these guys, a boring (though once mildly amusing) idea has been encouraging developers and publishers to churn out subpar, needless fandiscs that rely on nice art and its seiyuu cast rather than creative integrity. I’m thankful that these profits can go towards more worthwhile ventures, though. That being said, this was meant to produce laugh, not hurt feelings so I’m really sorry towards those who were hurt.

      Occasionally, I do think I crossover into the “rude” category rather than my usual “blunt; harsh” one. Though I generally- no, majority of the time- stay extremely civil and even get along with most of the otome gaming community, I have no obligations whatsoever to stay polite to anybody. That alone would sound bad, so let me elaborate: it’s as you say; this is my blog, so I can (along with anybody else commenting here), can say whatever they like within reason. In saying so, I choose to be as civil as possible unless I’m satirising/joking about something. I agree that it’s not right to be rude for the sake of being rude.

      Thanks again for bringing this to my attention, and for commenting. To many people, commenting negatively about another’s post isn’t easy, so thank you for taking the time to do so and wisening me up as a blogger! 🙂

  4. Pingback: [NEWS] Otome Game Releases - Tháng 01/2015

  5. Pingback: Otome Visual Novel Releases of February 2015 | Purple Nurple Wonderland

Don't be shy, leave a reply!

Powered by WordPress.com.

